McChrystal Out, Petraeus In

Image

Normally, it takes days, or even weeks to get resolve a scandal. This took less than 48 hours to get it all over with. As I wrote in my last post, General Stanley McChrystal was under fire for unflattering comments said about the Obama administration in an interview with RollingStone magazine. By 1 P.M. today, everything was done and over with. Obama accepted Gen. McChrystal’s resignation, and has nominated Gen. David Petraeus to take his spot and be the top commander in Afghanistan. Was this a good decision? I think so. If I was in the same situation, I would have fired him if he didn’t offer to resign. I just wouldn’t have someone in charge of a very important mission in a war who doesn’t agree with me or says disparaging things about me. I know he has his own opinion, but the President just can’t have someone doing something as important as being the top commander in Afghanistan and be insubordinate. I think Obama was right in accepting his resignation because he shouldn’t put up with any BS from people who are working for him. Also, the press would have a field day (or week) with this story. The commentators on the cable networks would have probably disagreed with the President on how he handled it. So far from what I’ve seen, everyone universally agrees that President Obama did the right thing to get rid of Gen. McChrystal and nominate Gen. Petraeus for the job. Petraeus is very well respected and is also well liked, and is credited with saving the war in Iraq. But as I said in the beginning of this post, this happened very fast. The decision of getting rid of him happened swiftly. From getting him to the White House, to the meeting with the President, this has to be one of the quickest decisions that the Obama has made in his presidency as of yet.

Damn that was quick!!!

Leave a Reply

