Emmys: Outstanding Supporting Actor – Who will win?

Unknownname

This is the first of multiple prediction posts that I will do until the Emmys, and I decided to start with the hardest.

So let’s get to it: here are the nominations for Outstanding Supporting Actor In a Comedy Series are:

Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Modern Family

Jon Cryer, Two And A Half Men

Eric Stonestreet, Modern Family

Chris Colfer, Glee

Ty Burrell, Modern Family

Neil Patrick Harris, How I Met Your Mother

This has to be the most difficult of all the nominations and the hardest overall in recent years. There were so many breakout stars with 4 of the six nominees being from new shows and 3 of the six acts being openly gay (Jesse Tyler Ferguson, Chris Colfer, and Neil Patrick Harris). All of their performances on their shows were great, and some could even say that they could have been nominated for leading roles. Yes, that’s how good it was!!!

So who do I think will win for Outstanding Supporting Actor? I still don’t know, but I’ve narrowed it to 3. I think that it will be one of the guys from Modern Family. All I know is that it will be one of these three guys. Modern Family is the show with the most buzz for winning Best Comedy this year, and I’m not surprised at all. A critical and commercial success, (and my personal favorite) Modern Family proves that the family sitcom is not dead, but the way this one is done is much more different than a conventional sitcom. Nominees Jesse Tyler Ferguson and Eric Stonestreet play The gay couple of the 3 on the show, and their performances were hilarious every time they had their moments on the show. Ty Burrell plays the dad on the most traditional family of the 3 that still thinks is cool and is also a bit nutty, and that causes tons of laughs as well. If I really had to pick one of the three, it would be Burrell. I saw a couple of episodes at his best, and he is downright hilarious. Still, I think that Ferguson and Stonestreet have a chance at the Emmy just as much as Burrell does.

So theres my first prediction, I’ll post another prediction soon for Outstanding Supporting Actress in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

