1 week until my first day of school

Unknownname

Next Tuesday is my first day of my 11th grade school year, and I can’t wait. This summer was alright, but now it’s just dragging on and the weeks coming up to the first day seem like months.

I like my academic part of school. Math, science, English, I like them. My computer networking class is the course that I’m dreading to go to. 3 hours of nothing. It’s just not for me, so I’m basically wasting 3 hours of my school day which I could’ve used on something much more important. I go to a vocational school, so it’s not like a public school. I have to wear a uniform and I have to choose a technical course that I have to study for all my 4 years. Even though it’s my choice, there aren’t any classes that I want to be in at that school. I honestly don’t know why I’m there. At the same time, I wouldn’t move to another school, it’s just not worth it. I’m entering my third year in high school, and it’s to late to transfer for this year. I could only transfer next year, when I presumably am a senior.

I also don’t know what my home school is like. Of course, there are stereotypes about public schools in cities, and I know a lot of people who hate when people just assume that city schools are no good. The thing is none of those people ever say that it’s not true. The problem is you can’t possibly win this argument if the proof is right in front of you. If the public school gets a lot of fights, arrests, bad grades, and drop-outs, you can’t be angry against someone who chooses to not go there, it’s just not fair.

Stereotypes are not good in any case, and unfortunately, they affect important decisions, including which school to go to. Stereotypes of both city and vocational schools have negative things to them, but at the end it all comes down to what is better for you. If you want to have a career that a vocational school is offering, look into what they do and if you like it, go ahead with the vocational school. If you just want academics and want to study something else in college, go to a public school.

One thing I can say is that I’m not enjoying my school as I’d like. I’m not liking my technical class at all. Also, let me make myself clear, because I know that some people get in trouble for saying bad stuff about school or teachers online: This is my blog, I will say what I want, and my experience with my class and teachers aren’t the same experience as others in my school. I have the right to express my opinions and experiences without being persecuted.

P.S. This is the first time I’ve posted a picture of me with my new style, what do you think?

Leave a Reply

