Billy Ray Cyrus’ Heartbreaking Tell All

Image

This truly broke my heart when I first read it. Being a viewer of the show when it first started, I fell in love with Hannah Montana when it premiered four years ago (I was 12). It seemed like Billy Ray Cyrus and Miley were inseparable. They were very genuine and they very much had it together. As Miley’s fame rose, I watched as she rose to superstardom, and for a time the family was still together and going strong. But when she started to focus more on things outside of her Disney show, the relationship between her and her father went downhill. We now know the true, raw feelings that Billy Ray Cyrus has after the show ended late last year in a surprising and revealing interview with GQ magazine, Billy Ray says that Hannah Montana wrecked his family. When speaking about Hannah Montana, Cyrus says, “I’ll tell you right now — the damn show destroyed my family … it’s all sad.” He talked specifically about the final season and the struggle to make everything seem fine on camera, “Season four, it was a disaster, I was going to work every single day knowing that my family had fallen apart, but yet I had to sit in front of that camera. I look back and I go, How did I ever make it through that? I must be a better actor than I thought.”

He also spoke about Miley’s many scandals. “Every time something happened in Miley’s career, every time the train went off the track, if you will – Vanity Fair, pole-dancing, whatever scandal it was – her people, or as they say in today’s news, her handlers, every time they’d put me… ‘Somebody’s shooting at Miley! Put the old man up there!’ Well, I took it, because I’m her daddy, and that’s what daddies do.” When talking about the relationship between him and Miley, he says that they aren’t on speaking terms with her, “You know, it seems at this point there’s not a lot that I can say she doesn’t already know,” Implying that he’s tried to guide her many times in the right direction.

When Miley first came to the business, she was very grounded and was very bright. It just seems that as of late, the bright light that was her star has dulled and she definitely doesn’t seem grounded these days. It’s a true shame; Billy took the money he earned from his 90s single “Achy Breaky Heart” to make a big home for his family in Tennessee, and then moved to Los Angeles after getting a role along with Miley to star in the show that would turn out to be Disney Channel’s most successful show ever. I do appreciate that he’s finally speaking out after everything that has happened with his daughter and his personal like. Last year, Billy Ray announced that he and his wife Tish would be divorcing after 18 years of marriage. As Billy said, and as I’ve mentioned in the post, “it’s all sad”.

Tagged , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

