Emmys: Outstanding Actress in a Drama Predictions

Unknownname

Almost all the nominees were from last years, but a newcomer might take the Emmy home this year for her surprisingly powerful performance. Whoever wins, I will disagree with the Emmy voters, because if you read my last post for Actor in a Drama, you will know who I want to win for this category. Before I get into details, here are the nominees for Outstanding Actress in a Drama:

Julianna Margulies (The Good Wife)

Mariska Hargitay (Special Victims Unit)

Glenn Close (Damages)

Kyra Sedgwick (The Closer)

January Jones (Mad Men)

Connie Britton (Friday Night Lights)

Emmy voters adore Glenn Close, and once again thanks to DirecTV, the show has been saved from cancellation. What’s different this time is that instead of sharing the rights to the show with it’s native network, the rights to Damages have been given to DirecTV, and will only air on DirecTV for 2 seasons. Her main competitor this year is newcomer Julianna Margulies from CBS’ The Good Wife. Margulies isn’t the star of the show, she is the show. I couldn’t imagine any other person playing this role after seeing the Pilot. She even looks like a politicians wife. Her performance was great, and I think that instead of Glenn Close, Margulies should win. Close has won so many times that she’s making the category a boring one, and it’s been a while since an actress from a network show has won this Emmy.

Just like Outstanding Actress, I believe the star of Friday Night Lights should take the Emmy home. Connie Britton’s performance on Friday Night Lights is downright amazing. Her performance was is the perfect example of a perfect performance to win an Emmy. When I was watching the scene of her giving a speech to a crowd after an abortion scandal, I got goosebumps. That was must-see TV. I’ve never scene anything like that on television. Britton deserves that Emmy, and whoever says she doesn’t, they’re just plain wrong.

So here’s my final decision:

Who will win: Julianna Margulies

Who should win: Connie Britton by a mile

My next prediction is Outstanding Actress in a Comedy, and make sure you tune in to the Emmys tonight beginning at 8, it will air live coast to coast so for you in Cali, it’s at 5 on NBC.

Leave a comment